Terraform Upgrade to v0.14 - Invalid Legacy Provider Address Error

Tony
2 min readJan 9, 2021

Terraform v0.14

Terraform v0.14 is a major release and so it includes some small changes in behavior that you may need to consider when upgrading.

I wanted to upgrade my terraform version from v0.13 to v0.14 because:

  • I’d like to try latest and greatest versions for my dev environment
  • As part of DevOps/SRE best practices, you don’t want to fall to far behind the major release.
  • There are bug fixes and new features

Upgrade guide

Like any other tools upgrade, I encourage you grab a cup of coffee, sit down and read this “upgrade guide”. Also take a look at the “change log

Download executable file

Depends on your platform, you can find the binary file from this url accordingly: Terramform v0.14

It should be as easy as a binary file replacement.

Problems I Run Into

After upgrade, when I try to run terraform init or terraform plan , I got this Invalid legacy provider address error:

$ terraform init
Initializing modules...
Initializing the backend...

--

--